Online Dating: A good idea? Or a bad one?

There are so many different views on online dating. So its online dating a good idea or a bad idea? In my opinion, I think online dating is just another creative way to meet someone special.  I don’t find anything wrong with online dating and I don’t think people should be ashamed of using it. In fact, if I ever become single again, I would totally try out match.com, eharmony, or Christian Mingle. Wouldn’t it be fun to see who your “match” is?

A friend of mine recently started using Match.com. She got the free trial version but then had to pay for the full version to see who was emailing her through the site. Immediately after creating her profile she got many “likes.” We had a good time laughing at many of them… actually she had very few cute guys actually like her profile (until later…)

She started talking to a few guys via e-mail. Some were extremely creepy, but she ended up hooking 4 dates, within four days. She had two on Saturday night, one on Sunday night and one on Tuesday night. Four dates, with four different guys… every girl’s dream, right?

Well, after talking to some people here’s what I heard you need to be careful with when it comes to a blind Match.com (or eHarmony, Christian mingle etc) date. When the guy picks a restaurant, make sure you have say in it too. I heard from a friend who’s friend did Match, that some guys would pick very expensive restaurants and then expect you too pay. If you have no problem with this, then eat wherever. However, if you do have a problem with this (and I definitely would!) make sure you pick somewhere affordable. I suggest the Cheesecake Factory.

Also on choosing your date local… From what I’ve learned from my friend, don’t choose a coffee place. My friend and her date went out for coffee… and it lasted two hours. She kept wanting to leave but he wouldn’t let her. He wouldn’t even let her get up for more coffee. If you choose dinner for your first date, at least there’s a set end to that (when you get the check) and if you end up liking him, go to a bar afterwards.

Another thing… make sure you have the guy’s face clearly remembered for when your meeting him for the first time. I suggest taking a screen shot of his face with your cell phone. My friend who went on one of her first Match dates the other night, completely forgot what the guy looked like. And she didn’t have his cell phone number. That’s another thing, make sure you have his number too. Anyways, she waited at a coffee shop for about 20 minutes before approaching the guy who was staring at her from far away and discovered that he was her date.

Before going on a date with someone you met online, make sure you give a close friend all the information you know about the guy. I had my friend send me a screenshot of a Match.com email from him and give me his phone number. She didn’t know his last name, but if you know that, then obviously share that information too.

Good luck if you decide to try this out at some point. And remember to always be careful.

Leave a Reply

